Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For most of my adult life, until I was laid off last year, I’ve been working in libraries. Not only has it been a rewarding experience in assisting people to find the books they’ll love, it also had the fringe benefit that when books were discarded, I could get the first pick. In this way I was able to build my cookbook library with gems I would have never been exposed to in any other job.

 

The collection has grown beyond my capacity to keep, and so I’ve been doing some weeding of my own and passing on some of the more vintage books to my Etsy customers. One such book is Thai Vegetarian Cooking, by Vatcharian Bhumichitr.

 

Mr. Bhumichitr, known to his fans as Vatch, was born inBangkokand studied in the 1970’s inLondonbefore opening his Thai shop and restaurant in 1980. His first book, A Taste of Thailand, was published in 1983, and others, including Thai Vegetarian Cooking, soon followed.

 

Vatch still writes and publishes today and his newest book, Stylish Thai in Minutes, hit the shelves this year. Sadly, 1991’s Thai Vegetarian Cooking is no longer in print.

A delicious variation of cucumber salad adding crab as a protein.

 

One of my favorite recipes in the book is for the cucumber salad. Cucumbers are one of the few vegetables all of my kids can agree on, and the recipe is fairly simple to prepare, using only eight ingredients that are probably already in your kitchen.

 

To learn more about the author, you can visit his website here:

 

http://www.vatchthailand.com/

 

To purchase my copy of Thai Vegetarian Cooking, please click here:

 

https://www.etsy.com/listing/93707221/thai-vegetarian-cooking-by-vatcharin

 

