Tags

, ,

A Ground Beef Recipe With Zest

plate with a serving of a ground beef recipe

Delicious and Easy Ground Beef Recipe

Have a pound of ground beef but don’t want to make the same meatloaf or hamburger recipes?
When I’m stuck for something new to try for my family, I like to pull off a vintage cookbook from my shelves and put a new twist on an old ground beef recipe.

My latest find is a McCall’s Casserole Cookbook from the seventies.
I love casseroles because I can prep them a day or two in advance and then pop them in the oven when I’m rushed.

The other day I found a recipe for Beef Creole with Potato Puffs.
It sounded great but I’ve been trying to cut back on potatoes and was missing a few of the ingredients listed, like ketchup and frozen peas.

Not a problem!! My cupboards and fridge are always well stocked in some of my favorite things, so it was easy to add my own spin on an old beef recipe.

Here’s what I used:

1 lb ground beef
½ cup onion
½ cup green pepper
½ cup celery
1 package frozen green beans
1 tbsp. flour
1 ½ tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. salt
½ tsp. pepper
1 cup HP Sauce
1 tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
One package Pilsbury biscuits

Flour, salt, and other dry goods

Here are the dry goods I used for this hamburger casserole recipe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

HP Sauce is a British condiment that tastes a bit like Heinz 57. Any steak sauce would work for this recipe, or, if you prefer less zing, go right ahead and use ketchup. After getting all of these goodies together, this is what I did with them.

Two bottles of sauce

HP is a British Sauce that tastes a bit like Heinz 57.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Preheat oven to 375 F
2. Brown ground beef, drain off fat

ground beef in a pan for browning.

Brown a pound of ground beef.

 

 

 

 

 

 
3. Add chopped onion, green pepper, and celery. Stir until tender, then add the green beans

vegetables and ground beef cooking in a pot

Adding the veggies

 

 

 

 

 
4. Blend the flour, chili powder, salt and pepper with a fork, then add to ground beef

sauce added to ground beef

Blend in sauces and dry goods.

 

 

 

 

 

 
5. Add the HP and Worcestershire sauces. Cover and simmer for 5 minutes

vintage casserole dish

A vintage Corning Ware Spice o’ Life Casserole is perfect for baking this dish!

 

 

 

 

 

 
6. Take ground beef mixture and spoon into ungreased casserole. Layer on Pilsbury Biscuits.

uncooked biscuit dough on top of ground beef mixture

Layer on the Pillsbury biscuits!

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Cover and bake 30 minutes. Uncover and bake 15 more minutes until biscuits are golden brown on top.

biscuits on top of meat, cooked.

Beautiful golden brown biscuits! This dish is ready to serve!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that’s it! You’ll get a ground beef casserole recipe that’s got a pop of flavor that will be sure to impress kids and spouse alike!

child eating ground beef recipe

Thanks Mom!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the original recipe you can find McCall’s Casserole Cookbook in my Etsy shop, Vintagepoetic.

https://www.etsy.com/listing/218410795/mccalls-casserole-cookbook-vintage

Also from my Etsy shop, vintage Butterfly Gold luncheon plates:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/203435219/vintage-corelle-luncheon-plates

For a vintage Spice O’ Life casserole dish like the one I used, check out this one from Etsy seller The Wild World:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/198363136/corning-ware-spice-of-life-casserole

