Tags

, , , , , , ,

Healthy recipe stuffed tomato plate

Fancy Tomato!

If you’re like me, you dread trying to find healthy recipes for your family over the summer that won’t have you sweating into your supper. Who wants to cook when it’s eighty degrees outside?

Salads are the go to option, but it’s tough to make them interesting and filling for a growing teen. What’s a mom to do?

celery, tomatoes, avocado, and onion in a bowl

Fresh veggies are a must for summer dining.

Flipping through The Book of Salads by Sonia Uvezian, I find a lot of interesting ideas, like a mousse or molded salad, which my kids wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole.

Then I found a recipe for something that I used to love as a kid, stuffed tomatoes!

When I was little, eating a fancy tomato filled with tuna, crab, or chicken salad made me feel like a grown up lady.

The recipe in Uvezian’s book calls for canned crab, but I used tuna instead.

It also called for olives, but there’s a strong division in our house between the pro black olives and pro green, so I just left them out.

She also calls for marinated artichokes as a garnish. Again, there is only so much new my kids will take in one meal, so I left those out too.

What I Used:

5 large tomatoes

2 cups canned tuna (2 7 ounce cans will do)

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 small onion, finely chopped

3 stalks celery, finely chopped

2 tablespoons parsley

1/3 cup Miracle Whip

Romaine lettuce

1 avocado, sliced thin

1 cucumber, sliced thin

5 hardboiled eggs

What I Did:

1. Mix tuna, onion, celery, parsley, lemon juice, and Miracle Whip together.

onion, celery, tuna, miracle whip, and lemon juice in a glass bowl

Mix it up!

2. Place each tomato stem side down on a bed of Romaine lettuce.

tomato salad dinner idea

Bottoms down!

3. Cut each tomato into six slices, being careful not to cut all the way.

healthy recipe, tomato on lettuce

Try to get the slices as evenly sliced as possible.

4. Carefully spread six slices apart, fill with tuna mixture.

Healthy recipe for stuffed tomato

Pretty tasty!

5. Garnish each plate with the slices of avocado, cucumber, and eggs.

That’s it! Simple and pretty. Let the kids help with the garnishing, they’re more likely to eat something they’ve helped prepare.

If you’re interested in purchasing the Book of Salads, you can find a copy here:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/188741378/vintage-cookbook-the-book-of-salads-1979

To purchase the lovely Corelle Crazy Daisy dinner plates, click here:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/213326025/corelle-crazy-daisy-dinner-plates

